ASEAN Community in the Czech Republic

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations or ASEAN is an intergovernmental organisation, established in Bangkok, Thailand, on 8 August 1967, aimed primarily at promoting economic growth and regional stability among its ten members which includes, Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.

Currently, in the Czech Republic, there are six embassies, namely, Indonesia, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Phillipines, Thailand, and Vietnam, representing the ASEAN Committee in Prague.

The purposes of the ASEAN Committee in Prague are not only to raise awareness about ASEAN and its member countries but also to promote relationship between ASEAN and the Czech public in all sectors including governmental, private, academic, and local media. The ASEAN Committee in Prague meets twice a year and organises several acitivities within and beyond the community through out the year, including, ASEAN Family Day, ASEAN Day celebration, ASEAN Bowling with the Czech Ministry of Foreign Affairs, ASEAN reachout project. Photos are the highlight of the activities of the ASEAN community in the Czech Republic.