ASEAN Day is the day ASEAN was formed. It started on 8 August 1967 when the five founding members of ASEAN, namely, Indonesia, Malaysia, Phillipines, Singapore and Thailand, signed the ASEAN Declaration or Bangkok Declaration, the founding document of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) in Bangkok, Thailand. The document states the basic principles of ASEAN: co-operation, amity, and non-interference. As a regional organisation in Southeast Asia, ASEAN is crucial in promoting peace, stability and prosperity in the region and beyond.

ASEAN Day celebration takes place on 8 August annually. Guided by the theme of ASEAN under Vietnam ́s chairmanship this year, A Cohesive and Responsive ASEAN, this 53rd Anniversary of ASEAN reflects the spirit of “Thinking as a Community, Acting for Community” in response to current and future challenges and opportunities as stipulated in the ASEAN Charter.